Light the World, One Human at a Time

You can please some of the people, all the time, you can please all of the people, some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people, all the time, you aren’t a jar of Nutella! But you can please one person once a day.. Everyday!

Today, on my way back from a place where people love me like leprechauns love their gold, I was basking in the affection and holding in my hand a chocolate gifted me by a darling mentor. One must never say no to chocolate, even if one is a unique annoying oddball like me and doesn’t like chocolate. Just kidding. I love chocolate, but there are moments when you know you’ve had more than your fair share. Because only if you accept all the chocolates you are offered can you hand it over to someone else.

I usually pick someone who doesn’t expect it. The surprise an unexpected gift brings is superior to an expected present. The smile is usually bigger too. So when I disembarked from my taxi today after I handed over the charged payment, I also handed over the chocolate. Skeptical, considering the drivers age whether he would expect it or not I said, “If you don’t want to eat it, could you gift it to someone else?” Remember the tone is important.

I saw a cranky, old driver turn into kind, smiling gentlemen, and his face was alight.

Leave a Reply

